ILEX Careers

Single Subject Certificates

CILEx recognises that not every student of law or legal practice may wish to go on to become a Chartered Legal Executive lawyer or Fellow of the Institute.

The CILEx Level 6 Single Subject Certificate offers recognition of achievement to legal professionals working towards a specific area of Law or Practice. It enables students to achieve a recognised national qualification in an individual subject of law, legal practice or legal skill.

If you are not looking for a professional qualification, but wish to gain specialist, in-depth knowledge of a particular area or areas of law and legal practice, then these certificates are ideal for you.

Those achieving a single law or practice unit from the Level 6 qualification units will be awarded a Single Subject Certificate for that area. For example those achieving an CILEx Level 6 Single Subject Certificate in Employment law will receive the CILEx Level 6 Certificate in Law (Employment Law). 

If you are working towards becoming a Chartered Legal Executive lawyer and Fellow of CILEx, the Level 6 Single Subject Certificate is also a step on the road toward achieving the ILEX Level 6 Professional Higher Diploma in Law and Practice. Each single subject Certificate is carried forward towards that achievement .

The Single Subject certificate itself will not confer any of the benefits of membership of CILEx, but is a recognised stand-alone qualification.

View the list of CILEx Single Subject Certificate units

Entry Requirements

There are no entry requirements. As the academic standard is set and assessed at honours degree, we advise that you should have substantial experience in the area of law relating to your chosen subject and/or have already have studied at 'A' level, AS level, NVQ level 3 or equivalent. You must undertake a course of studies to enter the exam.

An exam and registration fee will be payable to CILEx.